Cleveland, Ohio

drink-icon11

The Velvet Tango Room

This is the place to go if you want a proper cocktail. The Tango Room is one of a handful of bars in the country that makes honest, old-fashioned drinks – the juice is fresh-squeezed, the syrups, bitters and sodas are house-brewed, everything is shaken by hand, and even the ice is specially formulated. Don’t expect anything with sugar on the rim or -tini as a suffix. I like the Apple Brandy Sours in the fall, Manhattans in the winter, Sidecars in the spring, Moscow Mules in the summer, and the French 75 all year long.

Call ahead for reservations in the back room Friday and Saturday nights – you’ll get a password that lets you in through a trick door to the inner sanctuary. Trust me – it’s worth a visit.

velvet-tango-room

Prosperity Social Club
This is my neighborhood bar of choice. At the back of the bar, there are stacks of old board games you can play, or you can try your hand at the vintage duck-pin bowling machine. It’s like like the rec-room of my dreams, and it’s the only place in the city that I know of where you can sit with a beer and play Connect-Four all night long. The food is pretty good, too.

prosperity-social-club2

5 responses to “Cleveland, Ohio

  1. Hello, all the time i used to check webpage posts here in the early hours in the morning, for the reason
    that i like to learn more and more.

  2. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this weblog on regular basis to take updated from most recent gossip.

  3. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back
    frequently!

  4. Spot on with this write-up, I truly think this web site needs a lot more attention.
    I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the info!

  5. Having read this I believed it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and energy
    to put this short article together. I once again find
    myself spending a lot of time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

